About Me

 

I was raised in St. Louis, Missouri.  I was valedictorian of University City High School and then attended Harvard University, graduating cum laude with a B.A. in Psychology. I then returned to Missouri to attend medical school at the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine. Following my marriage to Brian Walsh, MD (whom I started dating while we were at Harvard and is currently an emergency physician at Morristown Medical Center), we moved to Brian's hometown of Chatham, NJ and I completed my pediatric training at Morristown and Overlook Hospitals. After graduation from residency, I worked part-time in a local private practice and spent some time teaching and supervising pediatric residents.







In 2005, we had premature twins, one of whom has special needs. Due to the twins’ extensive medical and caretaking needs, I spent two years mostly home, while occasionally filling in for area pediatricians while they were on vacation. When the twins turned two, I went back to work with another local private group practice, where I remained through 2019.



I have been involved with the NJ State Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) for my entire professional career. In 2012, I assumed a national position with the AAP in the area of Early Childhood. I also serve on the Government Affairs Committee for NJ AAP and have spoken at press conferences alongside members of Congress on such subjects as the health risks of vaping and gun violence prevention. In 2018, I was awarded a grant to improve health and safety in child care centers in NJ. I was honored and thrilled to be invited to present my work at the AAP’s National Conference in October 2019.  I have also volunteered for many years as the school physician at a school for children with autism. Recently, the American Academy of Pediatrics recognized me for achieving an especially high level of continuing medical education credits. In 2020, I accepted a part-time position teaching Pediatrics to resident physicians in a clinic setting, which I have greatly enjoyed. 



I have lived in Mendham, NJ for the past 15 years with my husband and twin sons who are now teenagers. We have various pets including miniature donkeys, dogs, finches, a canary, rats, a gecko, a snake, fish and a tarantula!  In my free time, I enjoy different types of exercise as well as horseback riding.